Crank Removal HELLLPPP!!

Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum

Help Support Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hiya! This is off my Purple Nurple project. I am brand new to tearing down and building bikes and this is my first. I have a build thread, but I've hit a road block. I'm betting it's super easy and I'm just dumb, but how do I remove this crank (and pedals)? It's an early to mid 60's Royce Union. I'm planning on powder coating the frame and crank.

Thank you for any advice or instructions! :D

crank_7.jpg

crank_6.jpg

crank_5.jpg

crank_4.jpg

crank_3.jpg

crank_2.jpg

crank_1.jpg

thats a cottered crank. you typically loosen the nuts so the threads are protected and hit them with a hammer to back out the cotter pins. Then the crank arms slide off the bottom bracket spindle. Then you proceed to remove the bottom bracket lockrings etc.

you may find the cotters rusted in there. plan on finding replacment pins anyway. good luck

Walker said:
thats a cottered crank. you typically loosen the nuts so the threads are protected and hit them with a hammer to back out the cotter pins. Then the crank arms slide off the bottom bracket spindle. Then you proceed to remove the bottom bracket lockrings etc.

you may find the cotters rusted in there. plan on finding replacment pins anyway. good luck

Or maybe I'd be better off changing the crank out completely. I actually tried hammering the threaded ends sticking out, but they didn't budge. My have to pb blast them and try hitting them harder.

First off, soak a bit with penetrating oil.
If you go bashing you must back up the blow with something rather solid; even a good chunk of wood is fine. Use a piece that sits on the floor/ground and holds the bike up off a bit. Hit them a good bash, dont just use little blows as that just tends to peen the ends.