Finally got a Krate!!

Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum

Help Support Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Traded my Eliminator and a few bucks, but I'm very happy to finally get a Krate. 1972 Lemon Peeler. Absolutely beautiful repaint by the previous owner, who is a bodyman. A few repo parts, but the deal was very good so no complaints here! I am not an expert on these, so I may have a few questions from those of you who are. Hope you like!

LemonPeeler1.jpg

I like it!,can't wait to see it in person,I know whitch bike you'll be taking on the next Pittsburgh ride!

Nice!!

I'd say I was insanely jealous, but I'm not - I'll get one someday.

I'm not. Really.

No,really.

Seriously; that's a great looking bike!!

You got it all with that Peeler. That was what everybody wanted in the 70s, but very few had them.

Sure it's a '72? 1972's were the first year that Schwinn put the "Disc-Brakes" on the Krates. I only ask because I see your's still has the caliper style with pads that were used from 1967-1971.

looks like sparkle grips which i think was a 1/2 year thing too on the lemon (could be wrong tho) either way slick looking Lemon Peeler !!! Love the thinline tire :D

Krateness said:
Sure it's a '72? 1972's were the first year that Schwinn put the "Disc-Brakes" on the Krates. I only ask because I see your's still has the caliper style with pads that were used from 1967-1971.

Frame is dated 72. I am learning as I go. The caliper brake is correct thought right? Just the pads are wrong??

1972 was the first year Schwinn put the Disc Brake system on the Krate bicycles. If the fram is dated as a '72 then it should have a disc on it and not the caliper brake system that was used from 67-71. If you see the picture below of my Pea Picker disc this is how the brake system should be on all 72 and 73 Krates.

DSC00855.jpg