Hard time build with a question about the gork

Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum

Help Support Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
IMG_6984.jpeg

Hi there starting a new build. Have CCD a quick question. Does anyone know how to fit my 26” tires on this fork? Having trouble making it fit. It keeps rubbing at the bottom of the fork. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

What size 26-in tires and what size rims are they on? The height and profile will change drastically depending on a couple of variables

How close are we talking about here? Can we see what you're dealing with when they're mounted up now or you attempt to so we can see how much they're off

Here’s a quick video. I have an 80mm 26 rim form ruff and their 3” tires. Hopefully the video can show you with what I’m talking about. Thanks again for all the help. I’m new to this.

Attachments

• IMG_6993.jpeg
    IMG_6993.jpeg
    2 MB · Views: 0
That's a pretty fat Tire I'm thinking your springer is designed to work with a smaller tire, probably 26x2.25 or so.

*Edit: I clearly didn't know what I was talking about. Resolved below

Last edited:
If you want to keep the same wheel you can gently angle grind then file down the bottom of the steerer tube like what I did on my in the weeds build, you can buy separate springer fork steerers so you don't have to cut up your original steerer

Great looking build!

The 26 x 3.0 is 28" tall vice 26" for the smaller widths. I had the same exact clearance problem with 3" tires on other types of springers. I made extensions, but your fork isn't made for an extension, the brakes won't align and it'll lose it's great look.