Let's talk about HVLP mini spray guns and paints to use

Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum

Help Support Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I've grown completely tired of rattle can paint jobs. It seems as though they take forever, and no matter what, never seem to last as well, or look as good as quality paint job done at a "shop".

So I recently purchased an HVLP sprayer. It's a Finex FX1000 mini HVLP sprayer, not the cheapest, but certainly not the most expensive, like a SATA.

I'm new to the spray gun game however, and was hoping that some of you might have some tips on things like:

• Tip Sizes - What's best for primers, bases, colors and clears
• Paint sources - House of Kolor, etc...
• Prep - surface prep, (media blast or strippers etc...)
• Painting (techniques, #of coats, etc...)
• Finish - sanding and buffing

What I know sup far is limited to a lot of research online, and a couple of books published in 1984. Which means, not much, especially these days with paint technology changing as much as it has.

I know that after taking the frame back to raw, that a primer/sealer should be applied to prevent rust. Allowing that to dry completely, you then sand out any imperfections so your basecoat had the best chance to lay flat. I know that wet sanding orange peel in the color is important as well. But that's about where my experience stops.

I'm not saying I NEED a show quality paint job, but my perfectionism and OCD sure would like it to look better than any paint job I've managed to do with a rattle can. I'm hoping that there's some experienced painters here that can give me some help.

I know experience and technique is 75% of the job, and that practice makes perfect, but a little background knowledge and pointers probably won't hurt either.