My first "BUILD" - **Purple Nurple**

Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum

Help Support Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I am a total noob with bikes other than I know what I like and I love bikes. I'm going to attempt my first build. No chopping or cutting, nothing extreme - just a crusty worn out old bike into something fun and fresh. Thanks to some items 'donated" by a good friend...Thank you Turtle64!...I have inspiration. I have a pretty cool Royce Union that needed some serious work. It's warped here and there, makes a LOT of odd noises and rides pretty rough so I thought it was a good base.

My vision - bright purple metal flake frame, white pearl or glitter banana seat (maybe even something custom), purple rims with fat white tires and LOADS of pinstriping in shades of white. I'm open to thoughts and ideas and want to have fun and use this project to LEARN more about these bikes than just tinkering.

Here's the parts I used for inspiration: purple rims (will still be re-painted), purple glitter grips - both fron Turtle64 - and a set of Schwinn purple dice valve stem caps from my loads of NOS parts.

PP_Day1_06.jpg

Here are pics of the bike before I got started...

PP_Day1_01.jpg

PP_Day1_02.jpg

PP_Day1_03.jpg

PP_Day1_04.jpg

PP_Day1_05.jpg

And here we go...my son helping me disassemble the bike...
PP_Day1_08.jpg

Well, here's the source of a wobbly and creaking set of handlebars. I'll need to replace this...
PP_Day1_07.jpg

And here's the fully disassembled bike other than the crank. I'm getting set up to sandblast the frame and looking for some parts. Lots of what was on the bike is beyond repair.
PP_Day1_10.jpg

Re: My first "BUILD" - **Insert Creative Name Here"

That looks like a cool bike. I bet most of it is repairable if you want to! Post plenty of pictures and ask plenty of questions.

jackdaw said: