STEAMPUNK–1987 Cannondale ST400

Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum

Help Support Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
This is my first build post on RRB.

I got this frameset on Ebay. It was a nice blue with an LLBean logo on it. Plan A was to build a daily rider from parts I already had. I didn’t know it would evolve as a project.

Here’s the original frameset I got on ebay:

I had the frame hanging in my office, trying to visualize the build and liking the color less each day. So, I stripped the frame with Aircraft Paint Remover, wet sanded it down to 600 and polished it with Mothers Mag and Aluminum Polish.

The steel fork was stripped, wire wheeled and sprayed with clear Krylon. This will probably be chromed at some point but I do like where the brazing shows.

I installed the 27” rims and gumwall tires, spoke guard and chain rings with a sealed BB, a new headset and shifter boss cable stops.

The polished frame, cranks, gears and wheels had that “machinery” feel to them. That’s when the Steampunk theme emerged. (Steampunk is the term coined to describe complex, futuristic contraptions envisioned by Victorian writers like Jules Verne and further popularized in Hollywood films like Wild Wild West, Hugo and others.)

I added the Kalloy adjustable quill stem and polished DiaCompe center pull brakes which kept with the theme.

The Suntour Vx GT rear derailleur is pretty ornate and the stem mount Suntour shifters look like they could operate a drawbridge. I’ll have to relearn friction shifting.

So here's where the build is now:

Future plans. Since I’ve seen some of your very cool bikes on RRB, I’m not sure about the flat bar or a regular seat any more. Maybe a nicely swept bar or even an inverted touring bar with old school brake levers with a leather springer seat. I may try white tires and wire mesh cable housings.