Trans-it (New grips so calling it done)

Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum

Help Support Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Newbie here to a build off... But think I will give it a try. This is the starting point and wing it as I go. This bike started life as a girls bike(trans-it) but a friend I got it from did the change over. Will use parts off my Schwinn and other stuff I can dig up. If the motor fits the fork I will use it got to put it back together first.

Look like a great pile of parts to start with . Welcome a board the crazy trail ! Have fun & enjoy the ride [emoji106]

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Welcome to the fray! This is a great group to be a part of and a build off is the best way to get fully immersed .....Rat On!

Your friend made a great Oriole-esque frame.

Thanks for the comments and I think it will be fun to join in....

Kingfish.. You are rite, He dose some nice fab work. Had to clean up some brazing and smooth out some areas and fill in some pitted spots and got it in prime last night, will post pics. later after mom day outing.

OK.... Steer tube on the springer is not useable (girls fork). Going to take it and another fork to LBS and see if it can be saved. If not I guess I can change to a different bike? if so do I delete this thread and start over? Newbie on the build off :blush:

I would guess the steer tube should be swappable for one that works, if you mean it's damaged or too short. If that doesn't work, I suggest seeing if another fork would work with that frame because it's a pretty cool frame. :cool2:

If you do need to mulligan and go with a different bike, it seems you can just call this project thread done and start a new one. Leaving it up keeps the info here for posterity. I'm just a sophomore to the BO, though, so others can weigh in on that.

Good Luck!