327 (new pics 5.24)

Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum

Help Support Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I swear this is the Last name change. I have been listening to a ton of tiger army as I work on this bike so I figured it would be only fitting to name it after one of there songs.

Scrap the fatboy muscle idea also. Im having a heck of a time making a boys mtb look cool without cutting up the frame. So Im going to redo my current rat and name it Blood drive seeing how Ill probably have to donate plasma to get enough cash to build this, lol. Turning it into a racer inspired bike. Im an ex mxer and always loved all kinds of racing minus nascar. This bike will be a drag/salt flat/flattrack racer.

Bike looks pretty cool as is but It hurts my knees to ride and Its all I got. Im a landscaper with a hobby fetish so I gotta work with what I have.

Current idea:
Laid back seatpost
Flat bars
Some kind of triple tree forks, either old dh forks or chopper styled forks.
24x3 out back and either a 26x2.15, 26x1.75 or another 26x3 upfront.
Atleast one brake
Rebuild a s/a 3 speed so there will be no coaster action at all.
Either a tank or a tank plate (tankplate if I use triple tree forks
Sealed headset (bike has a 11/8 headtube)
Three piece sealed crank
Black tires aka ditch the white walls.

Current picture before tearing it back down.

IMG_5033.jpg

Re: Blood drive!

I gave up on trying to turn the 24" mtb into a big muscle bike. The frame was just to boaring to build without cutting and welding. Should have some progress pics by tomorrow as this new platform will be much easier to get started.

Re: Blood drive!

Well I spent a bit in the basement. got some things done to the bike. Here is how it sits as of now, far from done but Im getting some ideas worked out.

IMG_5507.jpg