Anyone running a Shimano 333 3 speed hub?

Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum

Help Support Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
So I decided that I want to build a multi gear bike, and went hunting around eBay. I ended up with a Shimano 333 3 speed hub, laced to a 26" rim with click shifter and Cable. Ive been looking around different bike sites online (including this fine community) and haven't been able to find what I need so far about adjusting/routing the shifter cable. I can only find information on the Sturmey-Archer/Nexus hubs. So anyone know how to rout the shifter cable to have it properly adjusted? any pics of how yall have done it would be great. Ive been trying to figure this out all day and so far no luck. Also anyone know a way to shorten the cable I'm very new to how all this works. I would really like to mount the shifter where the red arrows are. Sorry if this is a stupid question I'm pretty new to this multi gear business.

DSC02773.jpg

I had a Shimano 333 on a homemade muscle bike. It was a very nice, dependable hub. I made my own stick shift, but I did have a trigger shifter like that at one point. I sold it on ebay, along with my 333 and a Shimano 3S hub, back in August. I think, If I am not mistaken, that the trigger shifter comes apart rather easily...? Have you taken it apart? I don't know what the cable end is like, and never adjusted mine, so I'm not sure if this is helpful, but I figure if you can take it apart and look for a while, and if the cable end is just cable (no ball/cable catch thing) you could cut it and refigure it. The plastic outer cable would have to be cut too (which is no big deal)...

Good luck with the shifter problem.