Beast Chopper

Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum

Help Support Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
3   0   0
I purchased a slightly used and modified Beast for this project. Plan is to cut off the head tube and rake out the front end for a Bike Designer 1-1/8 threadless chopper triple tree and bare steel 42" fork tubes. Will get a 29" cruiser front wheel/tire from Phat Cycles.

It will have the rear of the Beast pretty much left alone. With a multi speed rear hub. Disc brakes front and rear. Wanted to go Hydro, but think I will go with BB7's front and rear. They do a great job on my Mukluk so they will work just fine for this project.

Picked up a banana seat at a swap meet and have it stripped and cleaned up ready to recover. But the bike shop has a seat pan that has me rethinking the seat.

No pics yet as I am just getting started rounding up the parts. But I will share when I get something.

Did get the head tube cut off. It will be replaced with a new one from Nova Cycles. Along with some cool cable guides they have, that will pretty much be the only welding needed.

Won't be able to get the frame parts, wheel and brakes until end of the week. Then I can get started with the build.

This will be my first custom build, but will have lots of help from the guys at Porkchoppd in Wichita, Ks. Stop by if you are near.

Still planning final colors. Thinking a red primer looking powder coat for frame and fork legs. Leaving what ever is black or aluminum alone. White wheels with black rubber, Surley Black Floyd on the rear and the Phat Bikes tire up front. Undecided on handle bar.

Just enough old and new school. Should be fun.

See ya,
Rod

Couple pics of the start of the project.

First time I have had the frame and fork together. Got the replacement tubing and some cable guides and a disc brake tab for the rear of the frame to weld on.