BEST "PARTS" BIKE TO START WITH

Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum

Help Support Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
im new to this whole custom bike thing but the bug has bit me. whats a good bike frame or bike,new or old to start with ? i ask as i dont want to buy something where ill have trouble getting parts or fitting parts.

what i have in mind :

cruiser style frame,springer front end fat white wall tires. ade to look like a bobber.

thanks , Geo

as far as good usually cheap used bikes, id look for a murray monterey or huffy good vibrations, they usually have whitewalls already, you can bob the fenders and cheap springers will fit just fine.

If you want something fast, Wally world is selling a hard tail aluminum cruiser bike for 96 bucks. For got the name, but its super light. I think its a NEXT brand. This is mine. Its an older one labeled as a "Prestige" Rat Rod it out, Springer Fork, Bars, Paint and a Fat Tire out Back. And did I say light and FAST??? $96....
S5002998.jpg

This bike is missing the fenders and chain guard.

millions of abandoned three speed girls bikes are laying wasted at the side of the road, begging for attention. :D

You can usually get the best deals at yard sales. People are trying to get rid of their stuff, and are usually willing to negotiate. I've bought a complete bike for as little as one dollar. Swap meets and thrift stores are hit and miss, sometimes they can be rediculously overpriced. Of course there's always CL, the 'bay, and last but not least our own RRB forum! Try to get a bike that is as complete as possible, it will save you a lot of cash in the long run if the price is right. Happy hunting!