Best Springer Fork to accomodate BOA-G tyres

Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum

Help Support Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello,

Complete novice builder and first time poster - I'm looking to build a Ruff cycles style cruiser from separate components. I like the look of their new Lucky V 1.0 frame and was wanting to add vintage springer forks to accomodate 3.45 BOA-G tyres and 65mm rims - will most cruiser 26 springer forks house these size wheels or am I way off the mark and need to seek out something bulkier / wider ? As I say - complete novice so go easy on the comments :) Thanks in advance!

Great frame - I really like the look of that one. I'm not sure the vintage fork is the way to go with this build. I'm saying this for two reasons - technical and aesthetic. The Lucky V is a modern, large scale frame, and has a 1 1/8" head tube. I can't think of any vintage springers that are 1 1/8". While you can get special headsets so you can use a 1" fork in a 1 1/8" head tube, I'm not sure you will be able to find a vintage springer that will work with the 65mm rims.

The other problem that you will run in to is aesthetics. The scale of that frame - large enough to work with 29" rims - demands a robust looking fork. I'm thinking an Abraham Linkage from Felt, or the Sunlite equivalent. I also think some triple trees will work in there as well. A vintage Monark has pretty spindly looking tubes, as do the old Schwinn springers. The scale will be off, IMO.

Whatever direction you go in, you are starting with a great frame - were I to buy a Ruff, that one would be on the top of my list.

ruff1.jpg

I used a U.S. Choppers vertical springer, chopped it way down, made new dropouts, it'll fit Boa tires, or even small motorcycle tires....

Please note: I have a killer tool set and machine shop at my disposal.