Best Type of welding??

Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum

Help Support Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
I just use a small wire feed welder and it works just fine!You can get them for less then 200 bucks just about anywhere. :mrgreen:

For most bikes MIG is fine, like Fatboy said wirefeeds are cheap and usually easy to get. If you want to start doing high end titanium roadbikes TIG is the way to go, it's more expensive than a wire feed MIG and it's also a little harder to get proficent at but you can lay some super clean tight beads if your good. I'm started on a wirefeed when I was around 7 or 8 years old and have been self taught ever since but if you want more fomal lessons check out local community colleges.

TIG is best but can be difficult to master, a regular wire feed MIG works great though. Lots of youtube videos out there with useful tips but nothing beats doing it. Go grab some scrap bike parts clean them up and get to welding. I normally say clamp one piece of metal into your bench vise and weld another to it then smack it with a hammer, if it falls off do it again. If you break the hammer before the weld you did good.

tig is about the best cost is high esp if you want todo aluminium as you need a ac/dc tig. mig is fine for frames,but i pref fuel/oxy as silver solder and braze give a bit better with frame flex plus you can use the heat for ennealing and shaping

i have mig what i use with co2/argon mix, and a oxyturbo setup with a 9L oxy cylinder

You have all the right answers above, they will just start repeating now.