Crank/Wheel/tire q's on felt.

Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum

Help Support Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
As you can tell by my post count and my upcoming questions, I’m a noob, but you have to start somewhere. I just picked up a Felt surf city Huntington Beach cruiser off CL and want to customize it, so bear with me. My goal is to black out all the polished chrome pieces with black substitutes to match my car which is pretty much the same color scheme, Black and blue. Crank-is there one that is black that someone can point me to that is plug and play for this bike? Wheels/tires-I want the fattest tires/wheel combo I can put on, found the thread with the 26/24x57mm wheels in black, but not sure if I should purchase 26’s or 24’s. The bike came stock with 26’s x 50mm with quick brick antique white wall tires, but I'm afraid that if I get 26x57 wheels with 3 inch tires that I might run into issues??
Thanks

You'll need a black 1 piece crank (OPC); here's a link to my favorite cheap, obtainable, new-production model:

http://www.niagaracycle.com/categories/black-ops-bmx-crankarm-1-piece-175-cro-mo-black-24tpi
Yeah, I know the pic shows a chrome one, but they offer the black one and as long as the one in your "cart" says "black", you're good. They make a 180mm version too, which may be better for ya.

You'll need a black sprocket to go with it:
http://www.niagaracycle.com/categories/black-ops-bmx-chainring-1-piece-44t-1-2-x-3-32-steel-black there's tons of other options out there, but that one came up in my same search for the crank, plus it's cheap, so...