Finally done!! 1951 goodyear hiway patrol

Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum

Help Support Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I got this bike from Nick last year as he had too many projects, and I had a vision for it, really wanted to see it done. Well today is the day!

Was lucky enough to find a bunch of NOS stuff for it, and some very talented painters, and I myself spent 8 hours cutting and applying the many stencils onto the base white coat (because I'm an artist and very picky)- but whew- don't want to do that again!

Got the tank back from having it lettered yesterday, and began the tedious and stressful (to me) process of putting it back together. Wrong screw, stripped bolt, forgot to clean this & shine that... where did I put that??? you know how it goes. And still needs some tweaking and adjusting- both kickstands I had for it are shot! I gave up about 11:30 pm after cleaning more parts, putting the braces on correctly (all different sizes!!) and the springer put back together.

...Unbeknownst to me, Nick worked thru the night on it. He woke me up at 3AM and said he had to show me something...I was so freakin tired I thought it was northern lights.

WOW! And there it was, all put together, all shined up, even with my fav song playing on iTunes! What a presentation!!!
Thanks Nick!! (I think he wants it back)

*A shout out to those who helped on this one-

Jeff/Rear facing Drop Out- That dude is seriously talented with rolling fenders! They were trashed!
Tim Thompson- Awesome painter (and springer-putter-together when the owner has forgotten how it goes!)
Ken/Mr Columbia
Janice/TheGarageSaleQueen, for all the NOS parts (her boyfriend used to work at Columbia back in the day)
Lenny at Krazy Kolors for the fab lettering.