Hechtrod's Salt Flyer ('59ish JC Higgins)

Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum

Help Support Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
So, I have a more detailed thread about my bike and its progress here viewtopic.php?f=24&t=9255 This is just to show off the few pics that show its progress without going through all my fluffy descriptions and details. This post is also to get your ideas on what would look good. SInce I'm very new to bikes, there are probably plenty of things that I just don't have a clue about. Like for example, Bonethrasher (from Ricky) gave me the flipped fork idea. I did that tonight and it looks great! See the before and after pics.
The bike, as far as I can tell is a 1959 (ish) JC Higgins with a spring front fork suspension and a rear rack that I don't think is original.
hechtrod

Pre flipped pic in the for sale ad (minus the front and rear lights)
5989775.jpg

Post flipped fork pic = much much better than new! 8)
100_5912.jpg

Well, I don't have a lot of time on this bike. I've only had it for less than a week. It felt a little different. The steering was more sensitive on turn in. But, you don't take tight fast corners with cruisers right? :) It's a longer wheelbase, so it feels more stable going straight. I really like it. But, I didn't do it for the ride. The front suspension action is more noticable now. I think the front feels softer because the wheel sits out further (longer wheelbase) so going up my driveway, it felt like the suspension compressed a little further.
Do it! It didn't take long and this was the first real time I've touched a bike to mod it. I'm decently technical minded (I'm a Quality Engineer by day), but still, someone who works on their own bikes, its a cake walk.
hechtrod

Rickster, you're right, the more I look at it, some monkey bars would set it off big time!! :lol: