help with research

Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum

Help Support Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

RPJ

Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
hello I would like some help with some research. I'm a Grafic design student and I need to find info on the subject "compare and contrast straight frames and curved frames in Bicycle design". I know there's a wealth of info here, I need stuff I can reference in an essay. I have found a small amount of useful stuff, but more is better, and you never know till you ask. Any help you can give would be excellent and appreciated. thanks

i am assuming you are comparing say modern day "diamond" style frames to those of the more traditional cruisers that we know and love. it is interesting to look at it in a way of design because sure a straight diamond frame is stronger and cheaper to build but a traditional cruiser type frame just has so much style. not to say that there are not those out there with straight tubes that are nice to look at. many early bicycles used straight tubes but still were able to add flair to these designs.

yes that's what I'm doing, not finding much about it so have to make it. even opinions as to why you like this style would be helpfull

thanks

if you look at some of the designs from the mid-late 30s to the 50s they were art, the flow of a bluebird, the tank designs, twinflex frames, the different fork designs, diamond frames have been around almost as long as bikes but look so industrial compared to the lines and curves of cruisers.