HiggiCanti.....on the road again.

Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum

Help Support Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Here's a new one for me. It's a lugged cantilever frame J.C. Higgins. The wheels are 26 X 1 3/8, three piece cranks and a Higgins three speed hub. I'm not sure how much of the rest is original. Maybe you know?
lugged7.jpg

lugged2.jpg

lugged1.jpg

lugged4.jpg

lugged6.jpg

lugged3.jpg

lugged5.jpg

lugged10.jpg

lugged11.jpg

lugged12.jpg

lugged13.jpg

lugged14.jpg

lugged8.jpg

lugged9.jpg

Re: Higgins Lugged....Cantilever?

is the b.b. a smaller one thats standard on the 3 piece cranks?
the welds on the canti part of the frame dont look factory(im far from a higgins expert though) try posting some pics of the b.b. i just want to see the welds on them.........
im guessing from what i see that its a custom home made frame(again im far from a higgins expert its just the welds look like some one franken-biked it)

These are somewhat of a mystery to me too. I have always liked the JC Higgins bikes the best, and would like to own one of these, they are pretty unique. I've seen a few recently- They were new to me before having seen the last few, I had no idea they existed. Interestingly enough, as ratina said, JCH Diamond frames existed too, also lugged and apparently of the same make. If what I am told is correct, Jc Higgins began contracting with an Austrian company (Puch?) and began offering the lugged diamond frames and cruisers in '61 or '62. It seems that these weren't as popular as the previous Murray made tanked models and cantilever frames, as I have only seen a few of these. I am pretty sure that the cantilever to downtube welds are factory as well. Neat bike. (I have been told that these Austrian bikes have a reputation for rust as Austrian chrome is supposedly notoriously bad :lol: ).