How Many Cad Engineers, Designers, Draftsmen Here?

Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum

Help Support Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
1   0   0
I have noticed there seems to be a great deal of awsome CAD talent here. I had worked most of my life as a mechanic with some self taught cad skills I went back to shool a few years ago to become a certified Cad designer (A.S. at local tech school).
It would be interesting to see how many cad operators are here, what sotware they use mainly, and an illustration of a bicycle and or if it's okay with the moderators a shot of what they do at work.
To start the ball rolling I have medium level Autcad skills and beginner level skills with Inventor and Solidworks. There is only one bicycle drawing in my portfolio and it is incomplete but I'll post a jpeg of it here. I hope Uncle Stretch doesn't mind too much that it's a reverse engineered drawing of one of his frames that I started last week. The lines are fantastic and challenging to model!
render.jpg

And here is sample of the stuff I do for work. It's a water pumpstation.
pmprender.jpg

Not terribly exciting work but it keeps the bills paid.
I know that C.P. Odom and a couple of other here do great work far better than I.
Would like to see how many others are out there...

I am an industrial designer by training. I am a machinist/parts designer for a local machine shop. I use Solidworks and have done some light AutoCAD. I also do patent illustrations on the side. Here is a link to my online portfolio with some of my work. http://www.coroflot.com/danb

I do a lot of 2-D AutoCAD in connection with my work, but have never had occasion to do anything bicycle-related with it.

I hope Uncle Stretch doesn't mind too much that it's a reverse engineered drawing of one of his frames that I started last week. The lines are fantastic and challenging to model!
render.jpg