I GOT THE 19? JC HIGGINS

Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum

Help Support Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
1   0   0
So I went to look at what was told to me to be a 1942 JC Higgins. I could not pass it up for fifty bucks ( I have paid more for beach cruisers that I sell )
I am new to vintage bikes and try to do research but I am a rookie at 51. The only # I could find under the crank look to be a small 219 and a big 70868
any help is greatly appreciated. I know the neck, bars, and seat are not original. What exactly do i have and is it worth the money? I love the look of it but am not sure wether to restore or rat it any suggestions?

Re: I GOT THE 1942 JC HIGGINS

I don't think it is '42, more like '49.

I figured he was off a little but I do not know these things yet so I come here for help

Pedals are later too. All else looks good. Is there a letter on the bottom?

Well it's Murray built for sure ( "fisted" seat tube & chainwheel). Not sure on year...can't find my Murray book right now. Cool ride ,not uncommon at all but there are a heap of parts out there for these bikes including tanks & a multitude of various chain guards,racks & front ends. You could turn it into a Higgins "header" bike...perfect bike for a first build,though,rat,custom or restore. Excellent buy at $50.
Good Luck with your build...let us know if we (RatRod members) can help...Pappy 8)
found my Murray book....if you look above the first 8 in the serial # I can see an M...if you sand there a little more you should reveal an O then a third letter. If its a 1942 the third letter will be a G. The M O stands for Murray Ohio then the third letter denotes the year then of course the serial number...hope this helps...P 8)

Its a post war bike, probably 48-49. The JC Higgins name was not used until after WWII, prior to the war Sears bikes were branded as Elgin.
-Brian