If only they made...

Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum

Help Support Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
1   0   0
I am searching out some information from everyone here at the forums. I am a designer at a custom machine shop and I would like to start making some really cool bike parts and would like to know what you would like to be able to buy, if it were available. I want to come up with stuff that looks old in its styling, but new in its function and material. Stuff like pedals, stems, hubs would be a good place to start, I think, but I want to know what you guys (and gals) think. Photos will also help the design process along by giving me styling cues. Post up your coolest parts (hot rod and other imagery appreciated as well) and I will see what I can come up with.

Here goes nuthin'! :D

How about wild handel bars & Sissybars?
pretzlebars2.jpg

Screamerparts002.jpg

stuff003.jpg

Chrome truss rods and associated brackets would seem like an easy sell. Also repop Western Flyer springer front ends. Troxel seat springs would be a huge hit. Bet there are a bunch of Troxels out there with shot springs. If I could get new springs I'd rebuild that seat.

Skip tooth sprockets designed for new 3, 7, & 8 speed Shimano Nexus rear hubs would be easy & sell like crazy if geared appropriately to match the larger old skip tooth chainrings. A lot of people just file off every other tooth but that can change the ratios with the larger chainring from what Shimano spec'd the hub at. Nail that to specific toothed older chanrings & you would have a huge seller in my opinion. Good luck with whatever you decide on.

Gary Mc said: