Input on first build off bike

Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum

Help Support Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Ok I think I have it narrowed down to 2 frames for the wbo. I'd like thoughts on which frame you would go with. Interestingly enough I brought them both from the same guy this summer for a song.

19dd269a76cafec753d8e4cd3f1988a4.jpg

The first one is a 30s Colson very rusty. I do have the fork. When researching the year of this bike I found that it was originally sold by a member here (unchained) in 2008.
7388391e0bd01a30cfc9a07d291a0c69.jpg

075d884a86a6f584da3935fa195a917b.jpg

The Second 50s straight bar. Also nice and crusty.
ac4fd57468df110e15741c20fbc6d465.jpg

0f68061d05060f706f3a1172238df3e0.jpg

This is my first build and I've got ideas for both frames.....I am so pumped for my first buildoff, I actually considered building two, but came to my senses. Input/advice from the experts would be appreciated.
Hoek

I personally prefer the lines of the straightbar, but I have seen some awesome builds with old camelback frames too (check out @ifitsfreeitsforme 's Berkshire from BONINE).

I think you'll have more competition from other builders with the same frame if you use the straightbar, but it's also a real crowd-pleasin' frame, that's bound to build up into something nice.

The Colson will have the added benefit of being unique, especially being that it appears to be made for 28" wheels. You could build up something very stately and impressive with that. Either frame can be built into a hott bike, but I suspect that whatever you build with the Colson will stand out from the crowd more.

So, for now, i'd say that either makes a fine choice, but i might lean one way or another if i knew what you were planning....