JOCKEY SHIFTER heeeelp..please

Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum

Help Support Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
5   0   0
Im starting a build here shortly and before anything I want to figure out a Jockey Shifter for this. I have a 3 speed Sturmey Archer hub..so from there..WHAT SHOULD I LOOK for in a jockey shifter?? this is my first time messing with a shifter so im a little lost.

HEEEELP PLEASE???

looka round , there are several ways to do it!

easiest is gonna be modding a grip shifter to take a stick, solid linkage is cool too if you can get the indexing down..

With a bit of strolling around on this forum,you're definitly gonna find enough info on this subject.
But to give you a start,this is what I did.
I mounted the gripshift (Shimano 3-speed) on a piece of solid 22,2 mm rod,which was threaded on both ends. That way it was mounted on the frame (you can use a clamp for that purpose).
Then I used a clamp with a welded-on nut (which is for the shifter-stick) and put it right around the rubber gripshift.
I admit that it it not the king of beauty,but it's working great for the past two years now.
If you want more info,just give shout. Maybe I could make some pics.
Good luck on your quest. :mrgreen:

Houndog said:
http://www.ratrodbikes.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=21&t=61622&st=0&sk=t&sd=a&start=30

Here is what I did....

I guess what i am unsure about is..I have a Sturmey archer 3 speed hub..can i use a nexus 3 speed shifter with it??/ As i said..im very new to doing anything other than coaster brake...so i have no idea what i am doing with this.

So if it is compatible i can get a grip shifter and modify it that way right??

Just try and find out. That's what I did with my SRAM 3-speed hub and my Shimano 3-speed gripshift. And it works great.
Good chance, your combo works fine too.

wimpy said: