Lead safe renovations

Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum

Help Support Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I make my living as a painting contractor and was wondering if anyother contractors or workers are being effected by the new EPA regulations starting in April.I know some aren't aware of the upcoming changes, but was interested if anyone else had taken certification course yet. Questions, comments or critisisms? Thanks

Will One-Shot sign painters enamel that contains lead be effected? Looks like I'll have to buy a bunch pretty quick. I remember when the EPA banned heptachlor (chlordane) back in the 80's. I still have a couple of gallons stashed. EPA: "If it works, let's ban it!" Gary

The government banned lead in paint for homes in 1978, from what I understand it can still be used in factories. What the new laws effects is anyone working in a home or child occupied building who disturbs lead based paint (sanding scraping cutting removing) They have new standards as far as how work must be performed that will addd to the cost of a job. Most people who I have talked to feel it will add 25 % onto a job. Still I did not know that One-shot had lead.

i watched a documentory back when that chinese company was getting flack from lead paint on kids toys.
was all about the effects of lead in lead paint.
what really surprized me, they were claiming an infant would almost have to eat his weight in paint chips to reach a dangerous level of lead (not fatal, just dangerous)

i'd like to know the truth. how much lead is too much lead?