my first build

Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum

Help Support Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
hey,this is my first build,thought id throw some pics up and maybe i could get some constructive critisism.i started with a huffy single speed cruiser.i got it on the cheap,and it was in decent shape.it has a springer seat i want to cover in leather,or maybe leave bare depending on what it looks like underneath.i liked the way the frame was shaped.i started off with extensive planning,but that was never my strong suit.one night i started cutting and welding.so far i raked the headtube just a little,but i dont think it was enough for my taste.i chopped the rear triangle and put in some 1/2 inch rod just to mock up what the frame will look like.i stated with about 3 inch stretch.i think i may take the chainstays to 5 inches or so,to get the back end to drop a little bit.thats all i have so far,i posted a pick with the wheels on.id like to do a triple tree springer fork,but that could change.

2011-11-02_17-32-59_691.jpg

2011-11-15_20-29-31_217.jpg

not much progress really,but this is how i want the bike to sit.from here i want to do a springer front,using an old trailer leaf spring.im thinking of doing a springer rear,but i havent seen it done and dont know if it will pose problems when riding,besides being heavy as sin.i wanted to use a leafspring there as well.any ideas?
2011-11-26_16-17-26_215.jpg

Great start & lookin good. I personally like stretched bikes, makes it easier to fit a big fat tire on the back! 8)

auditech10 said:
... and maybe i could get some constructive critisism.