New from ohio.

Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum

Help Support Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Normally ride the same 20 inch i built in highschool (01-05), but with my knee getting worse i decided i wanted a cruiser but seen the crazy money some of them sell for so i ended up finding a pair of his and hers 75 western flyer 5 speeds. The lady beleived they were 75's, her and her husband bought them new (co workers mom owned them). hers will stay the original green with just a clean up because its in good shape. Im a grease monkey by trade and my fair weather daily driver is a 78 zephyr wagon so i wanted something older that i can make mine that isnt worth much. Mostly just joined to browse the builds here because this was kind of my plan before i knew it was even cool. I think thats enough of a book, but ill mostly be Lurking since i dont know much about older bicycles.

forgot pictures. the cruisers

the normal ride

Last edited:
Welcome aboard.
From Ohio myself, there's a few of us.
Poke around the site and you'll learn about old bikes, I didn't know much when I got here and I'm still learning. But I can spot some good stuff in a crowd now.

i think i like the fork on it, just kind of messing around wth it while i hunt for a yardsale 26in mountain bike, all my leftover mountain bike rims are bent!

Dont feel like its worth a full on build thread but heres how it sits now thanks to a 10 dollar roadmaster.

Need to put a chain on, change front wheels because it doesnt really need a disk brake hub on a fork that wont clear it. Probably going to hack the rear fender up a bit to get it on then just look for a rear rack of some kind. Derailer adjustment should be a fun time!