Orange krate replica

Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum

Help Support Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
ae3e5242-fb33-4f4c.jpg

ae3e5242-fb49-a934.jpg

Anyone build one?

I plan on doing one for my dad. He had one in 68 until it got stolen. So here will be his childhood dream arrising from the ashes. Pretty much all I have is a stingray frame, bananna seat that will need to be recovered w/ kit on ebay, and ape hanger handle bars that I can use. Everything krate specific I will need to buy. I am not new to restoration, (restored mustangs/shelbys/cobras for a living for the past 10 years) but I am new to bike restorations

Any vendor suggestions?
Any money saving tips?

Any and all info is greatly appreciated. Thanks guys!

vividlyvintage said:
Any money saving tips?

Buy one of the BFK repops and use the parts... some people want stupid money for them, or you could just find one in a ditch like I did. I still couldn't sell mine locally for even $100, so there are deals out there.

Whats a bfk? Oh and I seen the hyper performance guy on ebay. I think his name is pete. He sells a seat rebuild kit just for the orange krate

mikesbikes36 said:
BLACK FRIDAY KRATE ... they were sold at wally world back in the day ....
Thanks, I will check that out. I am such a newbie when it comes to bikes. Im 27 now and havent ridden on for about 18 years lol. I never customized my bikes either. I wish I would have. I am in the sf bay area if anyone has one for sale at a reasonable price.