post-war Manton & Smith

Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum

Help Support Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
hi all, newbie here; Manton & Smith I finished last summer, have put a ton of miles on it so far with no problems at all except some rear hub tweaking.

Started with a beat-up frame my bro gave me in '95 I think, it hung on my various apartment walls for years until I worked up the mojo to tackle it.
P1040456_zps3d830974.jpg

P1040461_zps424ab14e.jpg

The chain stays were badly crushed on both sides from repeated kick stand over tightenings
P1040464_zps0386160a.jpg

P1040465_zpsaedecfb4.jpg

P1040564_zps285c09b0.jpg

but some metal work got that area patched pretty nicely, the cross-brace/lower fender mount was attended to after this pic was taken.
P1040681_zps74c4b676.jpg

Frame was twisted on almost every axis, took a lot of jigging to get it straight; the seat stays are still not totally evenly centred, but it it is straight and rides perfectly without any crabbing.

Here after blasting, lots of JB Weld slathered on
IMG_2201_zps6a476c6a.jpg

Bought a set of pre-war drop centre rims with ND hubs; the rims were quite rusty so I went repro, bead blasted and powder coated semi-gloss black. The hubs had lots of rust so I bead blasted them, cleaned them up on my poor mans lathe (drill in the vice with a long bolt as a mandrel) until they were good enough for a baked-on Rustoleum black finish, this to emulate "war time" black-out chrome. Brake arm is NOS war-time production. Saw-blade sprocket also blasted & painted. Swapped out the skip tooth sprocket on the rear hub for a regular one. NOS bearings and disc set, all parts zinc plated with a home Eastwood kit and buffed.
IMG_2211_zpse68daf82.jpg