Replacing innertubes

Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum

Help Support Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I am a little nervous about having to replace innertubes. I have never done it before, and I don't want it to blow up in my face. :oops: Does anyone have any tips?

I always like to take the new tube and put just a little air in it outside of the rim and tire just to get it to a good shape and then stick it in.

make shure you put a little biy of baby powder in the tire, thid will prevent the tube to stick to the inside of the tire. It might not be as important on a rat than on a mtb but its good to do.

what i do is use what ever i have laying around (spoon, flat head,small wrench) stick it under the tire and roll it around the rim till one side of the tire is off. Pull the tube out than the whole tire can come off. Then i'll put just just enough air in the tube off the wheel just to give it shape. Than stick half the tire back on the rim, put the valve in the whole push the rest of the tube into the half on tire and pop the hole thing back on. (make sence?)

This is the best way...

aka_locojoe said:
Do you guys place one side of the tire on the rim and then insert the tube - or - insert the tube in the tire and then place both on the rim at same time?

I've seen it done both ways.
I do the first method.

The best way for most fat tires, i.e. 1.5", 1.75", 1-3/4", 2.125" or more, is to roll the bead on one side onto the rim by hand, then insert the tube, then work the second bead over.