Rolling Smoke... BBQ trailer Finished Pics!! 9-26-09

Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum

Help Support Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I have been smoking meat for about 10 years now and enjoy it as a hobby, plus its just good eatin! I have an original Oklahoma Joe smoker that I inherited from a friend of the family that passed away. Its large enough to smoke a large quantity of meat and sometimes I dont want to fire it up to do smaller portions for just the wife and I.

So I decided to build a smaller version, and of course once I started messing with bikes I figured why not combine the two? So a couple years back I decided I wanted a smoker that I could mount on a trailer to be pulled behind a bike. I can use it around the house and also hitch it to the bike and take it with me.

I finally got my bike done, so now there is no excuse to build the BBQ trailer.... I am naming it "Rolling Smoke"
Got started on it a week ago, and the smoker part is almost done, just have a few details to complete. Its made from two propane tanks, the smoke chamber is a 40 or 50# tank, and the firebox is a regular 20# gas grill tank. I was able to find both tanks for free since they had the old valves on them.

SAFETY WARNING... If you decide to do this, please be careful! To make the tanks safe to cut into... I unscrewed the valve and filled the tank completely with water, then re-installed the valve. At this point it was safe to cut.

Now that the smoker is almost done I will start on the trailer sometime this weekend, It will be using conduit (3/4" or 1") since this thing is pretty heavy! I also racked my brain on figuring out the hitch, and I think I got it figured out.

Stay tuned for Pics!!

Re: Rolling Smoke... BBQ trailer

Yes I have seen that one, and its the one that gave me the inspiration to build my own version.