Ross "Diamond Cruiser"

Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum

Help Support Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Got this off my bro'-in'law. I was thinking orange with red lugs or yellow with orange lugs or something bright like that. I remembered I had another blue anodized wheel. The brakes are Dia-compe blue anodized but faded real bad, the levers are almost like three speed levers though, not like BMX levers at all.

Anyway, with all that blue and finding that other wheel I think I may stay with the gray, or maybe hammer finish. I've never done a bike in hammer finish before. I'm going to get a single speed hub and relace the rim onto it. The hub that's on there has a pretty tall flange so I hope I wont need to buy new spokes :roll: . I'm looking for a spider and 42-44 tooth ring, something not too beat but no-name is good.

rossBMX1.jpg

I opened up the bottom bracket, and saw this :shock:

RossGoop.jpg

I don't know what it is, someones nest or food cache or something. It's like greasy coffee grounds, with bug parts? in it. Gross. No rust though.

I think I'll keep the stem... maybe. I saw an old Redline stem on Ebay for $65, I had no idea.

rossBMXstem.jpg

I think she'll clean up nice. I hope I can find parts that work at the right prices. I just spent all my birthday money on my wife buying me a welder! :lol:

What do you guys know about hammer finish paint on bikes?

So I've done a little. The rear wheel that came with the bike is blue ano with a blue ano hub. I had a blue ano front, it does not match perfectly and it has a silver hub but wudda ya want fer nuthin'? I got a single speed freewheel for it. So I think they cleaned up alright.

rosswheels.jpg