Some info on Sears brands for UK members please

Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum

Help Support Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I know Sears sold various brands of their own but what were they all? Also I am wondering about bike model names, because, for example, a J. C. Higgins Flightliner looks like a Sears Spaceliner.

well this is the Sears 70s "Glider"

IMG_2713.jpg

not stock colour mind you :mrgreen:

FW

stephen said:
I know Sears sold various brands of their own but what were they all? Also I am wondering about bike model names, because, for example, a J. C. Higgins Flightliner looks like a Sears Spaceliner.

I'm no expert but here's what I think I know :lol: . JC Higgins was a brand sold by sears. I read somewhere that JC Higgins was an accountant or something for Sears and they liked his signature so they used it on bikes they sold for a period of time.
As for the bikes that look like the Spaceliners... I think Sears had the bike designed for them by some famous artist/designer. It was manufactured by Murray who retained the rights to make the same frame for other bike sellers as well.

I think Elgin bikes were also a Sears brand or at least sold by Sears.

Sears sold bikes branded as "Free Spirit" that had some nice components and lugged frames. They looked English. I know at the begining of the "English Lightweights" craze, Sears sold red, green and black ones that were pretty nice. Other than that they (as locojoe said) JC Higgins and I have read that same thing about the name coming from and exec's signature. Also sold Huffy bikes that were branded as "Sears" later and then just Huffy.