The Game Before The Internet.

Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum

Help Support Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
52   0   0
A.S.Boltnuts and I were talking today over PM about pre-online bike sales.

Got me to wondering...

I know there are many of you bike guys, like myself, that were either not involved, or too young to care for the antique bike collecting back before internet.

Just wondering if anyone wanted to share how they had to track down bikes before the age of eBay, Craigslist, RRB...etc

I know I started browsing RRB at the age of 11-12 and became a member soon after. Now I'm 19 so I can say I've been doing this for a good 8-9 years. I've had hundreds of bikes pass threw my possession and a few keepers along the way. (All made much easier by the internet and quick and easy Google research)

How did you find them?
How did you date and value them?

Thanks,
Tyler

my first experience with a classic bike was in the late eighties when I was a bike racer. I came across a neglected Murray at a flea market, and shortly after, some period-correct accessories at a tag sale. I restored the bike, enjoyed it into the 90s, then sold it through a free classified ad in a newspaper. Didn't revisit vintage bikes until discovering this forum in 2008 or 09.

But to answer your question, I recall scanning Bargain News (a printed magazine), and newspaper classified ads back then to find used deals on anything, including bicycles. To date and value items, I asked local friends who always knew somebody in the area who was into whatever hobby the item was about, and I called that person.

Scrapyards/junkyards were my place for bikes. Always had the guy running the scale look out for anything with wheels.