THIS IS AGRAVATING ME!!!!!!!!!!!!

Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum

Help Support Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
ok
u guys all build these low riders and are all like just put a springer and bars on it
ok simple
so i go get a bike
think think o yeah how bout a low rider
alright all is good
so I'm lookin around at springers and i can't find one with a 21 point w/e mm steer tube
I'm using a 20 inch 1968 boys stingray style frame
so here the dilemma
will a 22 mm steer tube fit in the schwinn 21 mm steer tube and if not, where can i find the right springer?!?!?
g'so pete i'm gettin FRUSTRATED and all i wanna do is build the dag-on bike

but if u guys could tell me it'd be great

THANKS!

Mopar,RELAX,this is supposed to be FUN...remember? (yeah right) ...

Im no springer expert,but I 'think' you can swap the steer tube in your springer with the size ya need.I think.

Short answer:

The lowrider springer will fit your 1968 Stingray.

The lowrider springers will accept both 22.2mm and 21.1mm stems

If you already have a 21.1 stem you want to use, a 21.1 x 32.5 x 27 mm headset.

If you need to buy a stem, the 22.2mm size is most common so just get a 22.2 x 32.5 x 27 mm headset to match your new stem.

I have a 1968 Stingray (August 1968 to be exact :mrgreen: ) beside me here that I'm measuring. The Head tube ID is 32.5mm. The height of the headtube is 4".

Chaingang has a good diagram at the bottom of this link:

http://www.chainganglowrider.com/Part%2 ... adsets.htm

Curtis (chainganglowrider) is a good guy to deal with BTW

Likewise, Aztlan is also good to deal with. Phone or email them and they'll set you up with the parts you need.

LMK if this helps - if you need more info, I'll post some pic's to help explain it.

-Mp

ok
breath
ok i'm relaxed
what if i test fited a 22 mm stem and it didn't fit?