wheels

Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum

Help Support Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
What are my best options for a wheelset? I have a late forties Road Master frame and was thinking of turn it into a clunker. I could just as easy keep it a ballooner with its skiptooth chain and cogs. I am wondering what the rear spacing is? I replaced the front fork with the sunlite 26 inch chrome from Niagra but im unsure what to do next. Ive got plenty of ballooners in the shed so i thought a klunker might be fun this time around. I guess id be looking for a 26 inch solid axle wheelset from a mtb. Most everything i can find is all QR.

Your frame is probably spaced at around 110mm, unless it's been modified at some point. Modern MTB wheels have rear hubs spaced at 135, at a minimum. So, you'd have to re-space the frame. If i were in your shoes, i'd be tempted to run something narrower. The old mild steel frames are easily spread, but it does seem to effect the strength of the frame. If you can build your own wheels, you could easily lace in a freewheel hub at 120mm spacing, which would accept a 5speed cluster....or, if you're running singlespeed, you can just run a coaster or bmx hub, which are spaced at 110mm....

Some info on spacing your frame out from Sheldon: http://www.sheldonbrown.com/frame-spacing.html#spreading