1957 JC Higgins frame

Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum

Help Support Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JHV

Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Newbie here trying to figure out what headset will work on my frame? Wanted to use a threaded bmx 1" fork but 1" cups are too small and 1 1/8" slide right in without pressing them and are just a bit too small as well. Any input is appreciated

ask you local bike shop , they may have what you need !
:grin:Yeah, they might, if your local bike shop really knows vintage American bikes, and has a massive stock of vintage parts. Most of the shops by me haven't even heard of a JCHiggins, and wouldn't even know where to begin on anything that doesn't adhere to the modern "standards" as far as headsets go. I think a few of the old-timer shops would know what they were looking at, but wouldn't have the part. My best bet would be VIA in Phila, which is pretty close, but it's also a pretty special shop. In all fairness, there are a lot of shops around the nation that could easily set you up, but they represent a rare, tiny percentage of bike shops, overall.