Murraycer - now the Airstream Bike

Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum

Help Support Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
2   0   0
Well I've been collecting parts for a couple of months and I'm not quite done collecting, but I thought I would start a thread on my build.

As some of you know my son and I are working on his rat. He is going to help me on mine. Here are the parts:

DSC02795.jpg

It's an old Murray frame that I plan to throw lots of new or newish parts at. I'm attempting to make a very ridable rat racer bobber tourer skid contest winner. I don't like to name bikes and such, but I thought I needed a thread name, so that's why that is up there.

Thanks flying dingo for the frame, bikebuilder for a seat post, blink for a "string of parts", stingrayjoe for a seat, assorted dumpster finds, and lastly ebay (letitrollbikes to be specific).

Re: Murraycer

only your superhuman strength (read; freak of nature) could make that rear wheel/tire fit in that frame. wow.

being a genetic misfit has it's benefits. :wink:

if you look closely you can see where I marked the chain stay with a Sharpie before I widened the frame. That's where the widest part of the tire needed to be. An it's where I placed a 2x3 when I squeezed the frame back together. Last night I hung the frame up from the head tube to do a better check than just eyeballing it. I hung a plumb bob from the seat tube and measured from the string to each drop out. I got lucky. the frame bent pretty equally. I adjusted it a bit. tire spins freely. If it were a old bent rim It would ever work.

I found my crappy phone photos that I took when the frame came out of the box.

1017081822a.jpg

1017081822b.jpg

I was trying it with a new 29er fork I picked up at Nashbar really cheap. I decided to use the Murray fork after I saw someone use 3/8" brake line for a truss. I bought some 3/8" line today.