New guy in MI (need a little ID help)

Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum

Help Support Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi everyone, I've been lurking the forums here for a few weeks, and I've always been into bikes and hot rods, so what better way to combine two of my loves than to join the rat rod bikes forum.

I'm 19, male, and I live in Grand Rapids, MI.
I work as an automotive technician, and I'm going to college for automotive service.
Before I could tinker on cars, I played with bikes, swapping parts and making things work that shouldn't work. I abandoned my bicycles for a few years while I messed around with cars and such, and I currently got back into bikes thanks to a friend who talked me into going riding this summer.

I like to stand out from the crowd with what I ride, which is why I ride this:
SSPX0543.jpg

one reason I joined is because I don't know what it is. I got it for free from a guy and it has clearly been repainted, I can't find a serial number and the only thing I know about it is the chainguard says "tourist expert."

I would like to tear it down and rebuild it with a little rat rod flare but I would also like to know what it actually is.

here are 2 other pics of the bike I took:
SSPX0544.jpg

SSPX0545.jpg

I don't know how much is original or not, but I did change the seat to the more comfortable one you see on it. It has 26" wheels, and some cool looking fenders that I've never seen before.

If anyone could help me identify it, we could be best friends forever ;)

good tip, forgot about the rear hub. it is an S/A. I'll run and check it a sec.

I just checked and the hub was like this:

below the S/A logo, it had some numbers that looked like this

55 8