Paint Questions???

Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum

Help Support Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
So ive been readin and admiring the gallery for some time now and i just realized WHY AM I NOT A MEMBER!! this is a awesome community with insanely sick bikes! thanks for all the insiration everyone! i know intros are incouraged so here it goes...my names justin, im 22, i like rat rods, lead sleds, stripes and beer. im a painter by trade, mostly with urethanes and epoxys. which leads me to my next question. so i got one of those schwinn occ stingrays (lame i know, but i dont know how wo weld so i cant frankenstein my own build...boo me). my friends dad owns a fab shop so hes goin to help me cut it up. like all the unnecessary stuff. i wanna make it into a old school bobber: red rims, flat black, pin-up graffics, fat white wall, suicide shifter, mexican serape seat, brass knuckle pedals, 25'' ape hangers, ect. So i was wonderin if a white epoxy spray paint would hold up better as a primer than the usual enamal primer?? any input would is greatly appreciated.

Duuude.. YOUR'E the painter.. lol. Just bustin' your chops. I am sure someone here can answer your question. Welcome!

Doesn't matter what you paint it with, it's gonna get scratched. That is, unless you follow the Rat Rod Bike methodology:

1 bike/120 total hours riding, 1 person, per year = 12 scratches on 1 bike

12 bikes/120 total hours riding, 1 person, per year=1 scratch per bike

24 bikes/120 total hours riding, 1 person, per year=only 1 scratch on every other bike

science rocks...

If your plan is to keep the bike straight primer, my experience is an epoxy primer with hold up long than an enamel primer.
BUT, to get it to last as long as it can, you first need to strip all paint, dirt and grease off. We have been sand blasting frames