The "Triple Spyder Bite" - 8/27 UPDATE - 99% DONE

Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum

Help Support Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
2   0   0
I like to let everyone know that this is my first documented build. I have fixed up many older bikes before but this is my first build sharing to the public. I recently finished my very first Stingray (1967 Deluxe) I ever bought but still waiting on a seat or else I would post pics. So, without further adieu I present you the start of what I would like to call "Triple Spyder Bite".

The main components I will be working with are as follows:

A 24" Spyder frame with rear wheel (will not be using), derailleur, shifter, and chain. This bike has been neglected by the previous owner and is definetly in need of some parts. I picked this up from Kratefest 2012 for $20.
2012-07-12174549.jpg

Next is the seat I will be using (minus the broken sissy bar), chain guard from an old 3 speed murray, spyder apes, and a 24" rat trap springer. Springer was from Kratefest 2012 and the rest are parts from a craigslist bike I tore apart.
2012-07-12174605.jpg

Last are the wheels. 5-speed rear wheel with a drum brake and a front wheel. Both have the original tires but I do need a replacement for the front since its pretty ratty. These also came off the craigslist bike I tore apart. Also, I always thought the stripes were painted on but the front tire looks like it was painted all black using a red tire?!?!? :shock: Oh yeah, and original white w/black stripe pedals.
2012-07-12182835.jpg

Here is the frame with components removed and chainguard getting ready for the stripper.
2012-07-12182750.jpg

I also have two brake set-ups for the main frame of the bike and a new chrome chain to replace the rusted one. Now its time to soak all the chrome pieces and strip the frame. Gonna be a busy weekend.