this place is rat-tacular!

Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum

Help Support Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
just wanted to say hello and introduce myself.

i'm located in london ontario(approx 2.5 hours due east of detroit, in the great white north.lol)
i'm fairly new to custom bike building, but i have alot of hobbies that have sharpend my bike building skills.
i have a few custom rides. i do have a question, what is and isn't considered a rat rod?

this was the first of my bikes. the only thing vintage is the 1970's firestone ashtray i'm using as a speaker housing.
the bike started life as a retro beach cruiser (supercycle-ccm) i didnt do much other than add components and alot of extra metal. its riddled with skull/dice/8 ball bolts, chrome skulls,custom cut flamed fenders,sterio, attena/jolly roger,lights horns, custom eighball suntour shifter etc etc. it started as a joke, and just got alittle crazy. that being said, i love it to death. 26" on the back,20 on the front.
IMG_1200.jpg

my second build was little more custom. it always gets one of 2 responses. wow i love it, or wow i cant believe you chopped a 67 schwinn stingray deluxe.
i'n my own defense, it was in rough shape and found in the trash. it still sports the original tractor grip tires (front and rear),grips,rims etc. i sent it to get hard chrome plated and found out i wouldn't get it back for 6 weeks.
IMG_0886.jpg

so i started yet another build
1970's girls rapido
IMG_0953.jpg

IMG_1150.jpg

IMG_1146.jpg

and i bet ya'll never guess what i was doing this weekend until it started to rain.

rat rods or not? i guess you guys would know, ya seem to be the experts.

love the forum and i adore the bikes.
i have a few other vintage rides
ccm cougar x-100 with sturmey archer stick shift
western flyer x-53 in route
and a couple other beaters.