Budzillacycles - Furniture build

Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum

Help Support Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I'm not sure yet if the end result will have the Rat Rod look, but here is what I'm up to....

I had been wanting to build another bike for a while, but I hadn't been inspired enough to build anything. That all changed today. Today I found my 'muse'.

I was at the Salvation army store this morning looking at the bikes and it occurred to me that I should see if they have any exercise equipment I might be able to create a new rear end for the square tube bike I built.

I didn't find anything good in the 'gym equipment' area, but walking up the aisle near the furniture this shelving unit caught my eye. I studied it long enough to make the employees there wonder what it was I was doing :mrgreen: I then notice down the aisle a little is a stool with the same tubing. The legs had a cool bend to them. I decided I had to buy them.

This is what I had to stuff into my little car -

Newbikes003.jpg

I got the stuff home and started thinking about just how I was going to release the bike hiding inside the shelving at that stool.

I started by taking the stool apart and cutting one leg set in half -

Newbikes005.jpg

I played around with them halves on the jig until I felt I had something I could live with -

Newbikes006.jpg

I got both sides on and tacked in place -

Newbikes008.jpg

I was going to use both top pieces to create double tube on the back bone, but I decided not to. The tubing wall thickness is on average as thick as most bike frames. I don't think it will be too weak since it's a cruiser. I am trying to build the whole frame out of just the shelf and stool tubing so I have to really think out my tube cutting before I commit. It's fun to just build something, it's been a while.

Newbikes009.jpg

Newbikes010.jpg

Newbikes007.jpg